National Nurses Week 2015 Nursing Awards and Photos

One of the highlights of National Nurses Week 2015 was the annual awards ceremony recognizing the exemplary work University of Chicago Medicine nurses do on a daily basis.

For those of you who were unable to make the presentation, here is a list of the winners and a photo slide show of the event. (All photos by Megan E. Doherty.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript. finalists:

Each year, calls upon its readers to nominate exceptional nurses for recognition in a variety of categories, including advancing and leading the profession; inpatient clinical nursing education and mentorship; home, community and ambulatory care; patient and staff management; and volunteerism and service. These are regional awards that recognize Chicago area nurses.

The University of Chicago Medicine was proudly represented by our finalists this year.

Patient and Staff Management

  • Stephenie Blossomgame, BSN, RN

Rising Star

  • Rita Lanier, RN


Family Sponsored Awards:

For the various family sponsored awards, all nurses were nominated by his/her nursing peers or manager for the care and compassion they demonstrated to patients and families. These awards exemplify excellence in nursing practice

Mark and Nanciann Huening Award for Excellence in Medical Intensive Care Nursing

  • Maria Brady, BSN, RN, CCRN

Constance E. Staffileno Award for Excellence in Transplant Nursing Practice

  • Christine Trotter, MSN, APN, ACNP-BC

Sylvia Watson Award

  • Patricia Heinlen, BSN, RN, OCN

Patricia Morgan Award for Excellence in Oncology Nursing

  • Ira Escarilla, BSN, RN, OCN

Brittany McKinney “Remember Me” Award for Excellence in Pediatric Oncology Nursing

  • Allison Kobe, BSN, RN
  • Kelly Smith, RN

Queenan Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice

  • Gi Kim, BSN, RN
  • Abby Cleminson, RN

TORCH Team Award

  • Team HEAT


Nursing Department Sponsored Awards:

Award for Nursing Excellence in an Adult InPatient Area

  • Ashley Wahome, BSN, RN

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Pediatric Inpatient Area

  • Lindsey Wieser, BSN, RN

Award for Nursing Excellence in an Outpatient Area 

  • Karen Leal, BSN, RN, SANE

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Specialty Role

  • Jannie White, BSN, RN, CFRN

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Leadership Role

  • Iliana Staneva, RN, MSN/MBA, CCRN, NEA-BC
%d bloggers like this: